Just back from the Matjiesfontein Show And Tell, which was not entirely fashion related but utterly wonderful. I guess you could describe it as a micro festival (the Lord Milner only has room for 100) and it was a truly unique event. I mean where else can you listen to Afrikaans rap in the sitting room of a Victorian hotel in the desert? Anyway before you roll your eyes about going off subject I launched a new project which is vaguely titled The Tee Party (I say vaguely as i’m bound to find someones used the name already…). The idea of it is that I get my hands on pics of people wearing their favourite T shirt and they give me some idea of the story behind it. It’s not necessarily that the T shirt is the most beautiful fashion item people own, it’s rather that it means something special. From talking to people that were kind enough to bring along their favourite t-shirt to the weekend for me to snap, it seems its often more about where the T-shirt comes from. I’m going to spend some time to collate the t-shirts from the weekend and post them somewhere seperate but for now here is a sneak preview.

If you’d like to take part send me a pic (nothing fancy) of yourself wearing your most loved t-shirt and tell me where it comes from and why its your favorite. Mail to southafricanstreetstyle@gmail.com 

 

