I did a slightly cheeky post on Dax Martin following Durban Fashion Week. Turns out he’s not naughty at all, he’s a nice dude and if you pop round to his studio he’ll give you a latte and make a Bikini while you wait. Fab. I should also point out he has the best name in SA fashion (sounds like he’s been sent from the future to save us all):

Me: What’s your background as a designer?
Dax:
I have backgrounds in music, engineering and horticulture but my interest in fashion started at a very young age, I am not formally trained, rather qualified through experience. I see my self as a “Swimwear Engineer,” rather than designer.
Me:
Where can the ladies get your work?
Dax:
I have a “Bikini will you wait” service for customers in Durban, you can order you bikini/monokini style and choose a fabric, enjoy a cup of coffee while your bikini is being made. Customers can contact me Tel: 031 2058635 or E-mail: daxmartin@tiscali.co.za
Also:
“Foxy” in Sandton and Eastgate
“Rainbow” in Camps Bay
Independent Boutiques From “Ponto” in Mozambique all the way down to Cape Town. And an interest in Europe starting next year.
Me:
Where do you get your inspiration from?
Dax:
I lie awake at night trying to figure out ways to construct the bikini that will make it fit better, feel better and look better (me: and to think I Iie awake worrying about where the leak in my kitchen is coming from, damn). I draw alot of inspiration from being in the Ocean,” surfing,” and most of the time solutions come to me while in the ocean. I enjoy classic movies and love the styling, but I don’t think I have a real conscious influence.
Me:
How do you market your collections (other than fashion week)?
Dax:
Get my product in to as many magazines as possible.
Me:
What advice would you give to other designers around taking part in fashion weeks?
Dax:
See Fashion week as a branding exercise
Me:
What are your plans over the next year?
Dax:
Development of Seamless Bra molding for Lingerie and swimwear, Market the scallop edge seamless bikini.
Me:
Thanks Dax!

